The building at 1700 South Green Bay Road was designed by architects Helmut Ajango and Gene La Muro and was built in 1975. The round shape of the church and the metal exterior brackets around the building represent the crown of thorns Jesus was made to wear at his crucifixion. The circle in the round design of the sanctuary allows the altar and built-in stone baptismal font behind it to be the center of the sanctuary, so all seating focuses on the means of grace – the water and the word. Our John-Paul Buzard organ also makes a stunning visual and musical contribution to our worship space.
The church is connected by a series of accessible ramps. The level beneath the sanctuary includes our kitchen, nursery, fellowship hall, and meeting room. Still another level below ground—the education wing—welcomes Sunday School children of all ages in classrooms and a library.